Daniel Urbas

Avocat, arbitre et médiateur expérimenté avec plus 25 ans d’expérience en règlement de différends, Daniel Urbas a eu reconnaissance des ses paires chaque année incluant à titre du “Leading Lawyer” en “Commercial Arbitration”dans la parution 2019 du Lexpert ® / American Lawyer Guide to the Leading 500 Lawyers in Canada, “Most Frequently Recommended” dans la parution 2019 du The Canadian Legal Lexpert® Directory for Commercial Arbitration, “Thought Leader” dans la parution 2019 du Who’s Who Legal – Litigation et la désignation AV® Preeminent™ accordé par Martindale-Hubbell®.

De plus, parallèle à ses services d’arbitre et médiateur, Daniel a reçu plusieurs reconnaissances par ses paires à titre de “Litigation Star: Commercial, Intellectual Property, Product Liability” dans le Benchmark Canada 2017 The Definitive Guide to Canada’s Leading Litigation Firms & Attorneys et le 2018 Best Lawyers in Canada® for « Corporate and Commercial Litigation« .

Il agit exclusivement à titre d’arbitre et médiateur, tant comme arbitre unique ou président ou membre d’un tribunal composé de trois (3) membres. Il est mandaté par l’une des parties, par les deux parties conjointement, par la Cour et encore par un organisme tel que l’ICC, le CCAC et IATA.

Un Fellow du Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (« CIArb ») basé à Londre, G.-B., et est l’un des administrateurs fondateurs du CIArb Canada, Daniel fait également partie de plusieurs listes de référence tel que l’ICDR, CIETAC et le BCICAC ainsi que les listes établies pour des industries/activities spécifiques tel que l’Office des transports du Canada.

Au delà de son rôle à titre d’arbitre et médiateur, Daniel a représenté, dans le cadre de sa pratique, des clients dans la cadre de litiges commerciaux et civils. Il a également été procureur dans le cadre de débats en matières de propriété intellectuelle (incluant piratage et contrefaçon), technologie de l’information, conflits entre actionnaires, immobilier et baux et responsabilité du fabricant, contrats de distribution et de franchise, construction, droit autochtone (réclamations territoires, traités) ainsi que les ressources naturelles.

Daniel est parfaitement bilingue, anglais et français, avec un diplôme en Droit Civil et un diplôme en Common Law. Il est membre actif du Barreau du Québec, le Barreau de l’Ontario (LSO) et le Barreau de la Colombie-britannique (LSBC) .

Il a agit comme procureur en première instance et en appel. Il a également agit lors de mesures urgentes. Il a comparu devant les Cours provinciales et fédérales incluant la Cour Suprême du Canada ainsi que devant plusieurs tribunaux administratifs et tribunaux d’arbitrage.

Au sein de son ancien cabinet, jusqu’en juin 2017, Daniel avait le titre de Chef régional du département d’arbitrage international et commerce ainsi que Chef régional du département de litige en matière de propriété intellectuelle. Avant, Daniel était également responsable du département de litige commercial et responsable nationale du groupe de propriété intellectuelle.

Daniel Urbas

An experienced litigator, arbitrator and mediator with over 25 years of dispute resolution experience, Daniel has earned a variety of repeat, annual peer recognitions including “Leading Lawyer” in “Commercial Arbitration” in the 2019 edition of the Lexpert ® / American Lawyer Guide to the Leading 500 Lawyers in Canada, “Most Frequently Recommended” in the 2019 edition of The Canadian Legal Lexpert® Directory for Commercial Arbitration, “Thought Leader” in 2019 edition of Who’s Who Legal – Litigation and AV® Preeminent™ by Martindale-Hubbell®.

In his litigation practice, in addition to sitting as an arbitrator and mediator, Daniel also earned other peer recognitions such as “Litigation Star: Commercial, Intellectual Property, Product Liability” in Benchmark Canada’s 2017 The Definitive Guide to Canada’s Leading Litigation Firms & Attorneys and in 2018 Best Lawyers in Canada® for “Corporate and Commercial Litigation“.

Daniel focuses exclusively on serving as an arbitrator and mediator.

As arbitrator, Daniel serves as a sole arbitrator, as chair or as party-nominated member of three (3) member arbitration tribunals. His appointments have been made by individual parties, by the parties jointly on consent, by court orders and by various administering institutions including ICC, CCAC and IATA.

A Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (“CIArb”) based in London, UK, as well as a founding Director of the CIArb’s Canada Branch, Daniel is listed on various rosters including general commercial rosters organized by the ICDR, CIETAC and BCICAC and on more specialized, industry/activity specific rosters such as the Canada Transport Agency’s roster.

Daniel’s arbitration and mediation efforts involve all variety of commercial and civil disputes

Daniel’s dispute resolution experience spans a variety of commercial and civil matters, intellectual property (including anti-piracy and anti-counterfeiting litigation) and information technologies, energy (wind, bio), natural resources (mining, forestry, fishing), shareholder disputes, real estate and lease disputes, product liability, construction, distribution and franchise, Aboriginal law matters including treaty and land claims litigation and dispute resolution of agreements relating to governance and natural resource development on native peoples’ territories.

He handled trial and appellate advocacy, as well as urgent and extraordinary applications. He has appeared before the provincial and federal courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada, as well as before arbitration tribunals and various administrative tribunals.

Fluently bilingual in both English and French with degrees in both Common Law and Civil Law, Daniel is an active member of the Barreau du Québec, the Law Society of Ontario and the Law Society of British Columbia .

At his former national law firm, up until June 2017, Daniel served as Regional Leader of the International Trade Litigation and Arbitration group and Regional Leader of the Intellectual Property Litigation group. Formerly, Daniel was also Regional Leader of the Commercial Litigation group and National Leader of the Intellectual Property Litigation group.